to My Law Office
I'm Rick Lurye. I've been a criminal lawyer for thirty years. My office
is in Montgomery County, Maryland. I understand that either you are
in trouble or someone you care about is in trouble. So, before I tell
you more about myself, let's
get you the information you need immediately to protect yourself, your
job and your family.
You Need to Know NOW about Drunk Driving, Criminal and Juvenile Charges
DRIVING CHARGE: When you were stopped the police may have taken your
license and given you a temporary license to drive. Attached to that
temporary license is a form which looks like a duplicate temporary license
-- but it is not. Turn the "duplicate" over and you
will see that it is a form which you must complete and submit in order
to request an administrative hearing. You must mail or deliver that
form to the Office
of Administrative Hearings, 11101 Gilroy Road, Hunt Valley, MD 21031-1301.
You must send in the form
within 10 days after your arrest or your driving privileges will be
suspended without a hearing. You must also enclose a check or money
order for $125.00, made out to the Maryland State Treasurer, as your
filing fee. Failure to enclose the check or money order invalidates
your request. Do not send cash. I suggest that you send the form and
filing fee via registered or certified mail. Click
here to review entire drunk driving charge information page.
CHARGE: You must resist every temptation to talk to the police, prosecutor
and victim. Once you have been arrested these people have taken the
position that you must be prosecuted. In fact, once you have been arrested,
with very few exceptions, your case cannot be dismissed unless you go
to court. Further, the participants in your arrest (the police, prosecutor
and victim) will use anything you say to your disadvantage. In other
words, even your most conciliatory statements or offers to pay damages
will be considered admissions of guilt. Click
here to review entire criminal charge information page.
CHARGE: Contrary to what you may have heard from other sources, detention
is a real possibility for juvenile offenses. The most serious mistake
you can make, if you are a juvenile, is that the Court will let you
off the hook just because you have had no previous problems with the
law. If you are a parent, the most serious mistake you can make is that
the Court will share your belief that your child just needs a scolding
for his first offense. The halls of juvenile detention facilities are
full of young people who have suffered for these miscalculations. Click
here to review entire juvenile charge information page.
Little Bit More About Myself
a life member of the National
Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers, a Founding Member of the
National College for DUI Defense,
and a Master of Laws from NYU Law
School. I'm also a graduate of the Harvard
Negotiation Project and the National
Institute for Trial Advocacy. I've served the public as an Assistant
District Attorney, Inspector General, and Assistant Attorney General.
I've also taught criminal law, criminal procedure, evidence, trial preparation
and investigation skills to college students and to lawyers. There
are more details about my life as a lawyer on my
biography page. You can contact me 24/7 by phone at 301-762-5305
or by email. I'll treat
you the way I would want to be treated, I'll listen to you, and I'll
show you how I will defend you.
information begins to make you a true and equal partner in your defense.
Now, let's get to work.